top of page

Top 10 kinda funny truths about step parents

Enjoy this with a grain a salt... or maybe a glass of wine. Either way, this relationship will be a challenging one. You're not alone. Heck I know I don't have it the worst. Feel free to add more to the list in the comments! Xoxo - S

10) She will hate you. You will hate her back. 9) The hate diminishes... kinda...sorta. 8) There will be shimmers of hope and then glares of despair. It's normal. Trust me. 7) Communication early on is key. It takes two mature people though. 6) Communication also takes time. Don't rush the process. Both parties have the right to not like the other immediately. 5) State boundaries immediately. Don't be lax on this. It'll bite you in the ass later. 4) This is one I wish I would've listened to my attorney. When kids are young (9 and younger) you can write a clause in your parental legal agreement that states the child cannot call the other party mom/dad. I wish I would've fought on this harder. I rather her had chosen to call her stepmom "mom" when she was a bit older. 3) Don't let the stepparent be the sole line of communication to your ex. I allowed this and my relationship with my daughters father was never allowed to flourish due to her insecurity. It's a lot harder to establish this relationship when the kid is older. 2) Put your settings on private for all social media platforms. You'll be amazed how insecure a stepparent may feel and their incessant need to stalk. Plus they can print or screenshot anything and try to spin that against you in court. 1) and lastly.......Smile. As often as you can. Because facts are facts and no matter what you're still the parent and cheers to that! Xo, Shanelle


bottom of page